Blog

Monday, July 18, 2022

A record-high inflation report, the prospects of a more aggressive Fed, and growing recession fears sent stocks lower– though losses were pared by a Friday rally.The Dow Jones Industrial Average slipped 0.16%, while the Standard...

Monday, July 11, 2022

In a holiday-shortened trading week, stocks rallied despite mixed economic data and vacillating energy prices and bond yields.The Dow Jones Industrial Average increased 0.77%, while the Standard & Poor’s 500 rose 1.94%. The...

Monday, June 27, 2022

Prospects of cooling inflation powered a rally in stock prices last week despite growing recession concerns.The Dow Jones Industrial Average gained 5.39%, while the Standard & Poor’s 500 climbed 6.45%. The Nasdaq Composite index...

Monday, June 13, 2022

A higher-than-expected inflation report triggered a sell-off on Friday, leaving stocks in the red for the week.The Dow Jones Industrial Average lost 4.58%, while the Standard & Poor’s 500 dropped 5.05%. The Nasdaq Composite index...

Monday, June 6, 2022

In a holiday-shortened week of volatile trading, stocks surrendered some of the previous week’s strong gains.The Dow Jones Industrial Average fell 0.94%, while the Standard & Poor’s 500 declined 1.20%. The Nasdaq Composite...

Show All

Tuesday, May 31, 2022

Stocks posted solid gains for the week, buoyed by the release of Fed meeting minutes and upbeat earnings from mid-size and discount retailers.The Dow Jones Industrial Average jumped 6.24%, while the Standard & Poor’s 500 advanced...

Tuesday, May 24, 2022

Recession fears grew last week following weak earnings reports from major retailers, sending stocks lower.The Dow Jones Industrial Average fell 2.90%, while the Standard & Poor’s 500 lost 3.05%. The Nasdaq Composite index dropped...

Monday, May 16, 2022

Monday, May 9, 2022

Monday, April 18, 2022

Monday, April 11, 2022

Thursday, April 7, 2022

Monday, March 28, 2022

Monday, March 21, 2022

Monday, March 14, 2022

Monday, March 7, 2022

Monday, February 28, 2022

Tuesday, February 22, 2022

Monday, February 14, 2022

Monday, February 7, 2022

Monday, January 31, 2022

Monday, January 24, 2022

Monday, September 13, 2021

In a quiet week of news, stocks moved lower amid simmering concerns over the Delta variant’s effect on the progress of economic reopening.The Dow Jones Industrial Average declined 2.15%, while the Standard & Poor’s 500...

Friday, September 10, 2021

Stocks were mixed last week amid conflicting economic data and continued spread of Delta variant infections.The Dow Jones Industrial Average slipped 0.24% during the five trading days. But the Standard & Poor’s 500 tacked on...

Monday, July 26, 2021

Overcoming a COVID-related economic growth scare, stocks moved higher amid a week of strong corporate earnings reports.The Dow Jones Industrial Average rose 1.08%, while the Standard & Poor’s 500 gained 1.96%. The Nasdaq...

Monday, July 19, 2021

Despite a good start to earnings season and some solid economic data, worries of slower second-half economic growth led to a pullback in stock prices last week.The Dow Jones Industrial Average fell 0.52%, while the Standard &...

Monday, July 12, 2021

Stocks managed small gains as investors wrestled with concerns over economic growth prospects and a rise in COVID-19 infections. The Dow Jones Industrial Average picked up 0.24%, while the Standard & Poor’s 500 gained 0.40%. The...

Tuesday, July 6, 2021

Strong employment reports and rising consumer confidence sent the stock market broadly higher last week. The Dow Jones Industrial Average rose 1.02%, while the Standard & Poor’s 500 picked up 1.67%. The Nasdaq Composite index...

Monday, June 28, 2021

Stocks reached new all-time highs last week as markets staged a strong rebound from the previous week’s declines.The Dow Jones Industrial Average rose 3.44%, while the Standard & Poor’s 500 picked up 2.74%. The Nasdaq...

Monday, June 21, 2021

New messaging from the Federal Reserve on interest rates and inflation last week led to a broad retreat in stock prices.The Dow Jones Industrial Average dropped 3.45% while the Standard & Poor’s 500 lost 1.91%. The Nasdaq...

Monday, June 14, 2021

Stocks ended the week mixed as investors appeared to shrug off a hotter-than-expected inflation report.The Dow Jones Industrial Average slipped 0.80%, while the Standard & Poor’s 500 advanced 0.41%. The Nasdaq Composite...

Monday, June 7, 2021

A strong, but not too strong, employment report sparked a rally on the final day of trading, propelling stocks to a modest gain for the week. The Dow Jones Industrial Average climbed by 0.66%, while the Standard & Poor’s 500...

Monday, May 31, 2021

Optimism over the economic reopening and renewed enthusiasm for technology and other high-growth companies powered the stock market higher last week.The Dow Jones Industrial Average rose 0.94%, while the Standard & Poor’s...

Monday, May 24, 2021

Stock prices fluctuated amid inflation concerns and bargain hunting, leaving stocks mixed for the week.The Dow Jones Industrial Average slipped 0.51%, while the Standard & Poor’s 500 dropped 0.43%. The tech-heavy Nasdaq...

Monday, May 17, 2021

A surge in consumer inflation unsettled investors, leading to a turbulent week of trading on Wall Street.The Dow Jones Industrial Average slipped 1.14%, while the Standard & Poor’s 500 fell 1.39%. The Nasdaq Composite index...

Monday, May 10, 2021

Stocks closed mixed last week as signs of continued economic recovery and upbeat earnings helped some sectors while the struggles persisted for high-growth companies.The Dow Jones Industrial Average gained 2.67%, while the Standard...

Monday, May 3, 2021

Stocks meandered around a flatline in a busy week of corporate earnings, ending the trading week slightly lower.The Dow Jones Industrial Average slid 0.50%, while the Standard & Poor’s 500 was flat (+0.02%). The Nasdaq...

Monday, April 26, 2021

The crosscurrents of strong corporate earnings, rising global cases of COVID-19, and the specter of higher capital gains taxes led to a choppy week of trading that left stock prices slightly lower for the week.The Dow Jones Industrial...

Monday, April 19, 2021

Stocks reached record highs last week, riding the tailwind of improving economic data and a strong start to the earnings season.The Dow Jones Industrial Average rose 1.18%, while the Standard & Poor’s 500 gained 1.37%. The...

Monday, April 12, 2021

Strong economic data and a resurgent technology sector propelled stocks to solid gains last week.The Dow Jones Industrial Average advanced 1.95%, while the Standard & Poor’s 500 picked up 2.71%. The tech-heavy Nasdaq...